Skip to Content


Minutes of the Classified Staff Association
April 25, 2018
Merritt Building, Room 5145-46
Ms. Francie Dye, President of the Classified Staff Association, called the meeting to order at 1:45 p.m. welcoming everyone present for the last time as President of the Classified Staff.
Members Present: Twila DeMasters, Francie Dye, Cathy Sanders, Dianne Sykes, Kevin Riley, Gayle Kiger, Connie Deacon, Ed McGee, Beth Walkup, Barbara Thurston, Layia Perry, Tammy Johnson, Christine Brannan, Catherine Rice, Amy McIvor, Mary Canfield, Jessica Riddick, Russell Dove, and Dr. John Capps.
The draft of the CSA Minutes of March 28, 2018 were distributed and approved unanimously.
Ms. Mary Canfield gave the treasurer’s report reporting as of today, we have $661.46 in our CSA account.  Today’s profit from the CSA Pizza Fundraiser was $374. A contribution of $175.00 will be presented to the CVCC Foundation for students in need next week.
Thank you Beth Walkup for heading up the “Cookie Day for Student.” Students enjoyed this special treat and so did faculty and staff.
Voting for Officers
Ms. Linda Daye had agreed to serve as President of the CSA during 2018-2019, but unable to serve at this time due to health issues. Two new candidates (Mary Canfield and Tammy Johnson) agreed to serve either as President or Treasurer. After an interim vote, Ms. Mary Canfield was elected as President and Tammy Johnson as Treasurer.
Congratulations to the new CSA officers for 2018-2019:
President - Mary Canfield
Vice-President - Cathy Sanders
Secretary - Connie Deacon
Treasurer - Tammy Johnson 
Dr. John Capps spoke encouraging words of support to the CSA members present. He thanked everyone present and explained that the Classified staff is doing more than “pushing papers and completing tasks at CVCC, but helping students and the community.”
Francie, outgoing President, shared a photo presentation of the “CSA Journey 2016-2018,” thanked everyone that made these accomplishments successful, and encouraged everyone to work together to achieve more.  Francie also gave a special thanks to Stephanie Keener (sister in CSA) and Twila DeMasters (her co-President).
Layia Perry was the winner of the CSA Lotto grand prize drawing! Congratulations!
Other winners:
Covey Kit – Jessica Riddick, David Fariss, Deanne McDaniel, and Amy McIvor
Cup with Treats – Barbara Thurston, Terri Brothers and Jessica Riddick
Francie introduced our special guest speaker, Lee Hubert, who presented the “Creating Life Margin” training session. This was paid for by the Professional Development Committee and open to all CVCC employees. (part1) (part2)
Thank you Francie Dye for your outstanding contribution and guidance during the last two years.
The CSA meeting adjourned at 3 p.m.
Submitted by Connie Deacon
Back to top