Skip to Content
Committee Name: College Governance Committee
Meeting Date: 3/22/2022 12:00:00 AM
Members Present: Debra Short (Chair, Employee Recognition), James Tuite (E2IT), Jill Markwood (Marketing and Public Relations), William Wilkerson (President’s Cabinet), David McGee (Faculty Association), Elizabeth Narehood (President’s Cabinet), Randall Franklin (President’s Cabinet), Kris Ogden (President’s Cabinet), Cynthia Deutsch (President’s Cabinet)
Members Absent:  Sarah Jarrett (Recorder, Professional Development and Part-Time Staff Association, Karen Alexander (Curriculum and Instruction), Kimberly French (Student Success), Raylene Cope (Classified Staff Association), John Capps (President’s Cabinet), David Lightfoot (President’s Cabinet), Lewis Bryant (President’s Cabinet), Dianne Sykes (President’s Cabinet), Jeffrey Sydenstricker (Safety and Security), Will Sandidge (President’s Cabinet), Elizabeth Elam (Evaluation and Assessment), John Rocha Jr. (Finance and Facilities)
The virtual meeting was called to order by Debra Short at 1:00 PM.

Approval of Minutes from November 4, 2021:
David McGee moved to approve the minutes from the last meeting on November 4, 2021, and Jill Markwood seconded the motion; the minutes were approved as written.

Faculty Association Proposal
David McGee presented a proposal from the Faculty Association about the revised Distance Education Policy. It was revised by a work group across the College and reflects implementation of a course review process for existing courses using a new rubric to comply with federal Regular and Substantive Interaction (RSI) and SACSCOC standards. It was approved unanimously by the Faculty Association at their meeting on February 15, 2022.

Cynthia Deutsch moved to approve, and Jim seconded. The motion was approved without further discussion.
Evaluation and Assessment
Cynthia Deutsch presented a proposal to formally adopt CVCC’s Strategic Plan Opportunity 2027. It has been shared across campus as well as been presented to the local board and is ready for approval by this council
Jim Tuite moved to approve, and Jill Markwood seconded. The motion was approved without further discussion.

Debra Short reminded everyone about our last meeting which will be held on April 27, 2022 via Zoom.

Cynthia Deutsch moved and David McGee seconded, and the meeting was adjourned at 1:04 PM.
Sarah Jarrett, Recorder
Back to top