Skip to Content


Committee Name:     Part-Time Staff Association
Meeting Date:            March 26, 2015, 1:00-2:00 PM
Members Present:    
Sarah Jarrett (Student Services- On Ramp), Cathy Sanders (Workforce), Alexica Linthicum (Student Success), Jana Fedele (Student Success), Martha Lee (Workforce), Cindy McCormick (Counseling), and Layia Perry (Counseling).
Approval of Minutes:
The minutes from the February 12, 2015 meeting have been posted on Communications Central and they were approved as posted. 
Treasurer’s Report:
Alexcia reported a new balance of $277.49 in the account.  $50 was withdrawn since the last meeting and was used to purchase meal vouchers from The Spot to help needy students.
We made $275.05 from the Pizza Fundraiser and this was immediately donated to the CVCC Educational Foundation for the Student Emergency Fund.
Our local funds for the year are now depleted after the purchase of pizza for today’s meeting.
Old Business: 
PTSA Constitution and Bylaws:
The new Constitution is ready to be presented to the Governance Council.  Officer names were changed to reflect the structure of other committees.  Sarah moved to approve this final version for submission and Cathy seconded the motion.  The motion passed and the new revised PTSA Constitution and Bylaws will be submitted.
PTSA Professional Development Awards:
Joy Adams has declined her award, as she will be unable to spend it this year.  Audrey Hudgins has not yet claimed her award either, but she has until the end of the spring semester to do so.
Spot Vouchers for Needy Students:
The 12 Spot vouchers were given to Nancy Mitchell to distribute as appropriate to needy students.
Spring Fundraiser:
Jana purchased some supplies for the Pizza sale that can be used for future fundraisers, including gloves, table cloths, and hand sanitizer.  These are in a box in Dianne Sykes’s office for future use.
New Business:
Volunteers for Governance Committees:
We need to get volunteers for next year for the Governance Committees.  Jana will review this and send this out at a later date.
Nominating Committee:
The Nominating Committee proposed officers for the 2015-16 year as follows:
Chair – Jana Fedele
Vice-Chair – Cathy Sanders
Recorder – Sarah Jarrett
Treasurer – Alexcia Linthicum
Cindy moved to approve the slate of officers and Martha seconded.  The motion passed unanimously.
Updates from the President’s Council:
Jana provided some updates from the President’s Council meeting that would be of interest to the staff. 
1.      There will be no more graduation rehearsal dinner provided.
2.      The retiree luncheon is now part of the spring faculty/staff luncheon and will not be a separate event.
3.      The safety committee elected to lower the cost of a replacement ID to $10.
Next Meeting:
Our next PTSA meeting is scheduled for fall 2015.
Submitted by: Sarah Jarrett, Recorder
Back to top